Referee Reportedly Used Replay To Correctly Disallow A Palmeiras Goal, So Palmeiras Wants Result Thrown Out

Photo of author
Written By Chris Azzopardi

The debate surrounding goal line technology has finally yielded some give on the part of FIFA (two different technologies are set for their debuts at this December’s Club World Cup), but soccer still seems years away from accepting video replay as means of determining a legitimate goal. That means that even when an goal is scored illegally, like with hand, changing the decision based on replay is not allowed. After a goal scored by Palmeiras’s Hernan Barcos was given, then disallowed after the referee was reportedly aided by video, the club is protesting the 2-1 loss to Internacional.

Palmeiras has officially filed a protest with Brazil’s sports tribunal and requested a rematch because of the referee’s decision to change his call in Saturday’s match. The tribunal’s decision is expected by next week.

Argentina striker Hernan Barcos used his hand to score the 62nd-minute equalizer, but the goal initially stood as neither the referee nor the linesmen or behind-the-net official saw what happened. The referee pointed to the center circle and his linesmen ran there, signaling a goal. Internacional players protested and the referee reversed his decision nearly five minutes later after talking to his assistants.

A TV reporter said a match delegate and fourth official asked the media if the replays showed the handball. The reporter’s comments will be used by Palmeiras, although club directors admit it will be difficult to have the match reversed unless the referee confesses he received outside information.

This is not the first time this particular Brazilian referee, Francisco Carlos Nascimento, has been accused of relying on replay to make a call. Earlier this season, he called a penalty and placed the ball on the spot only to change his mind when a linesman radioed to say that the foul actually happened outside of the box.

Barcos admits the offending goal was scored with aid of his hand, but says it shouldn’t have been disallowed.

“Of course I touched the ball with my hand and it went in, but it only happened because my arm went up as I was fouled inside the area,” Barcos said. “Nobody there saw it, they only changed the call after the pressure from Internacional players and from the people on the sidelines.”

Source: SI.com

Leave a Comment