That’s Not A Handball, THIS Is A Handball

Photo of author
Written By Chris Azzopardi

In their FIFA Women’s World Cup Group D matchup, Australia were leading Equatorial Guinea 1-0 in the 16th minute, courtesy of a goal by Leena Khamis. An Australian attack came down the left wing. The cross came in, but the shot by the Aussie striker rebounded off the post. Instead of clearing the ball, the closest Equatorial Guinea player caught it. Like, “caught it” caught it. Not “handled it.” Not “redirected it with her hand.” CAUGHT IT. In both hands. Then proceeded to hold on to it for about four seconds before dropping it. The ball was still technically in play the entire time, and the referee didn’t give her a card. She didn’t award Australia a penalty. She didn’t even blow the whistle.

Australia ended up winning the match 3-2, but the referee, Gyoengyi Gaal of Hungary, will count herself lucky to work ever again.

Leave a Comment